Saturday, December 19, 2015

My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories (edited) by Stephanie Perkins



Release Date: October 14, 2014
Publisher & ARC: St. Martin's Griffin
ISBN: 9781250059307
Ages12+

School is finally out for Christmas break. It feels like forever since I've sat to do review a book, and as I here here at 11:12 PM, I'm thinking to myself that I am really too tired to do this. But I shall push through because I loved this book, and it's a perfect read leading up to Christmas (which is less than a week away now might I add). 

First of all, how cool is it to look at the cover and see all of the YA names we love? From Gayle Forman (If I Stay series) to Matt de la Pena (The Living) this holiday book has every perspective possible, and it's edited by international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins (Isla and the Happily Ever After). 

While you could read this book anytime during the year, it's especially wonderful during the holidays, and the stories represent all aspects of the holiday season, including Christmas, Hanukkah, Winter Solstice, and New Year's, so there's definitely a voice for any reader. 

Saturday, November 28, 2015

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files #1) by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff


Release Date: October 20, 2015
Publisher & ARC: Knopf
ISBN: 9780553499117
Ages: 13+







This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet's AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it's clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she'd never speak to again.

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.


Sunday, November 8, 2015

How to Be Brave Blog Tour with Q & A and Book Trailer

View the Brand NEW trailer here.
How To Be Brave: A Novel
By: E. Katherine Kottaras
St. Martin’s Griffin
Publication Date: November 3, 2015
Hardcover: 9781250072801 / $18.99 USD
eBook: 9781466884670 / $9.99 USD

ABOUT THE BOOK
An emotional contemporary YA novel about love, loss, and having the courage to chase the life you truly want.

Reeling from her mother's death, Georgia has a choice: become lost in her own pain, or enjoy life right now, while she still can. She decides to start really living for the first time and makes a list of fifteen ways to be brave - all the things she's wanted to do but never had the courage to try. As she begins doing the things she's always been afraid to do - including pursuing her secret crush, she discovers that life doesn't always go according to plan. Sometimes friendships fall apart and love breaks your heart. But once in a while, the right person shows up just when you need them most - and you learn that you're stronger and braver than you ever imagined.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Credit:  Emily Mae Marie
E. Katherine Kottaras is originally from Chicago, but now she writes and teaches in the Los Angeles area. She holds an M.A. in English from the University of California, Irvine and teaches writing and literature at Pasadena City College.  She is at her happiest when she is either 1) at the playground with her husband and daughter and their wonderful community of friends, 2) breathing deeply in a full handstand, or 3) writing. She now lives in Los Angeles where she's hard at work on her next book.


Read on for Q & A and Praise!

Wednesday, November 4, 2015

Monday Mentions: Greatest Zombie Movie Ever Sneak Peek and Giveaway



Author: Jeff Strand
Release Date: March 1, 2016
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Jeff Strand gives readers a sneak peek at his latest novel The Greatest Zombie Movie Ever, and shares his five favorite zombie movies.

Jeff Strand’s Five Favorite Zombie Movies:
My five favorite zombie movies are very similar to many other people’s five favorite zombie movies. I could’ve gone the condescending click-bait route and written about “The Five Best Zombie Movies You’ve Never Seen!” but, no, I’m going with my five real favorites….
 #5: DAWN OF THE DEAD (2004 version). I was one of the many people bellowing, “You can’t remake DAWN OF THE DEAD! This is blasphemy! Blasphemy!!!” But somehow this remake to a sequel (but not a sequel to the remake) turned out to be awesome. Not quite as good as the original (SPOILER ALERT: That’s #3 on this list) but one of my all-time favorites. 
 #4: RE-ANIMATOR. I’ve now seen plenty of movies that are more over-the-top insane than RE-ANIMATOR, but this was the first movie where I simply couldn’t believe what I was watching. It was hard to believe that a movie so dark and gruesome could be so funny. 
 #3: DAWN OF THE DEAD (1978 version). Shameful confession: When I first saw this in high school I thought it was stupid and boring. Fortunately, I matured and accepted that it’s one of the high points of zombie cinema. It’s the reason I know to duck before walking toward spinning helicopter blades. 
 #2: RETURN OF THE LIVING DEAD. Fast zombies long before 28 DAYS LATER! The first time zombies ate brains! It doesn’t often get the credit it deserves, but this is one of the most influential zombie movies ever.
 #1: SHAUN OF THE DEAD. The greatest zombie comedy ever. The greatest zombie movie ever. The greatest MOVIE ever. 

Thursday, October 29, 2015

C.S Friedman Returns for Dreamseeker


C.S. Friedman has garnered praise for the powerful writing and vivid world-building in her dark fantasy novels for adults. Her novel,This Alien Shore was named a New York Times Notable Book of the Year, and her Coldfire and Magistrate trilogies are considered classics of the genre. Last year, with Dreamwalker (DAW; February 2014), Friedman ventured into young adult for the first time, launching an all-new thrilling series. Imaginative and action-packed, it was the beginning of a stunning adventure into a visionary new universe that left readers of all ages breathless.

In Dreamwalker, Jessica discovered that she can not only affect the dreams of others, but also travel across worlds and dimensions. Through her travels, she met kindred spirits who possess her same mysterious gift—the gift of the Dreamwalker.

Now she returns to the scene with DREAMSEEKER (DAW Hardcover; $19.95; November 3, 2015), continuing Jessica’s adventures as she learns deeper, darker, and more dangerous secrets. The series features fan-favorites like young hacker geniuses, elegant magic systems, and portal fantasies and is sure to be a hit with fans of Brandon Sanderson, Cassandra Clare, and Libba Bray.

Tuesday, October 20, 2015

Don't Get Caught: Cover Reveal and Giveaway


Don’t Get Caught
Author:  Kurt Dinan
Release Date: April 1, 2015
Publishers Sourcebooks Fire

Debut author Kurt Dinan reveals the cover of Don’t Get Caught, and gives readers a first-time sneak peek:

Describe your book in 140 characters or less?

A high school nobody recruits a crew of misfits for heists and pranks to get revenge on the mysterious Chaos Club.#DontGetCaught

How did you come up with the idea for Don’t Get Caught?
Look, who hasn’t wanted to rob a bank?  Or at least hasn’t thought about it?  I can’t be the only one, right?  Right? So, I suppose Don’t Get Caught is my way of robbing a bank without risking actual jail time because, let me make this clear, I would not do well in prison.  I love capers, heists, and schemes, and while the crew in this novel aren’t robbing banks, they are satisfying my criminal thoughts by doing the teenage equivalent of bank robbery--wrecking havoc in their high school.

Tell us about the main character.
Max is a high school nobody, a kid who’s smart enough and nice enough to get by, but who doesn’t really fit in anywhere.  So basically, he’s me at sixteen.  But what Max has that I certainly didn’t have is a genius-level ability to scheme and a newly discovered gift for leading misfits.  He’s underestimated by everyone, a fact that works to his advantage when he decides it’s time to write his name in the wet cement of the universe by destroying a forty-year-old secret society.

Did your class in high school pull any memorable pranks? Or is there one you wish you had pulled?
My prank life didn’t begin until college when I helped mastermind a promotion for a fake campus concert that almost led to my arrest.  But in my final year of high school, the six-hundred members of my senior class were crowded onto bleachers for an all-class picture.  I look at that picture now and see an opportunity for chaos.  I mean, how much would it have cost to hire an airplane to drop a hundred gallons of water at the precise moment the picture was taken?  Or to organize a group of kids to all wear neon shirts and arrange themselves into something profane within the crowd?  It’s missed opportunities like this that keep me up at night.

What books formed your thinking or reflected who you were as a child and teen reader?
I read a lot of early Stephen King probably before I was old enough, and then through high school it was mostly comic books and classics.  I do specifically remember reading Helter Skelter during my junior year, dragging that non-fiction monster around with me for a month or so.  Looking back on it now, that’s probably all of the evidence needed to explain why I didn’t have a girlfriend in high school.

Wednesday, October 14, 2015

Out of this World Wednesday: Goosebumps Movie



What’s Out of this World?

  • The Stories: While I worried about the movie throwing too many characters into one film, I was quite surprised at the effectiveness of having the beloved characters come to life all at once. The books television show had already accomplished giving each monster his/her/its spotlight, so showcasing the monsters as a collection worked quite well. Each monster still a moment to shine, and not taking too long on introducing each monster allowed the movie to progress nicely.
  • Main Characters: ​Appropriately aged, the cast of characters are funny, lovable, and eccentric. Zach (Dylan Minnette) is the awkward new kid whose mom is the new vice principal at his school. Befriending Champ (Ryan Lee) on the first day, Zach does his best to fit in and heal from the loss of his father in the previous year. Champ is the stereotypical nerd whom everyone ignores, especially the prettiest girl in school, Taylor (Halston Sage). Champ is probably the most lovable character whose humor carries the film. Moving into a new house, Zach sees a mysterious girl next door, Hannah (Odeya Rush) whose father (Jack Black) is extremely paranoid and protective of his daughter. A quick side note: Odeya Rush looks just like a younger Mila Kunis.
  • Family Fun: ​​When I left the theater, the first word that popped into my mind was "fun." Having grown up loving R.L. Stine's Goosebumps and Fear Street series, I was a bit of a fan girl as I watched the stories come to life. Realizing that that movie wasn't really intended for my age group, I wasn't setting my expectations too high as far as my own personal enjoyment. But I was very wrong. I laughed throughout the entire movie and rooted for the main characters, just like I would if I were the more appropriate age group. For children, the images are not frightening, and the overall mood is not scary. Yes, a Goosebumps movie wants to gross you out and make you feel a little jumpy, but it's nothing a kid can't handle. Parents will enjoy this movie as much as their children.
  • Teachable: ​​Asa teacher, I am always looking for ways to incorporate film into the classroom, and this one fits the bill for a certain unit. Teaching a unit on short story structure? Working a film into a suspenseful Halloween unit? This movie is perfect for elementary through high school grades. You don't have to worry about inappropriate material, and the story of Zach and Hannah's potential relationship is innocent. I will be adding this to my video request form next October!

Monday, October 5, 2015

Monday Mentions: A Song for Ella Grey by David Almond



Release Date: October 13, 2015
Publisher & ARC: Random House Children's
ISBN: 9789553533590
Ages: 14+






"I'm the one who's left behind. I'm the one to tell the tale. I knew them both...knew how they lived and how they died."

Claire is Ella Grey's best friend. She's there when the whirlwind arrives on the scene: catapulted into a North East landscape of gutted shipyards; of high arched bridges and ancient collapsed mines. She witnesses a love so dramatic it is as if her best friend has been captured and taken from her. But the loss of her friend to the arms of Orpheus is nothing compared to the loss she feels when Ella is taken from the world. This is her story - as she bears witness to a love so complete; so sure, that not even death can prove final.
 

Thursday, September 17, 2015

Max the Brave Blog Tour!




Max is a fearless kitten. Max is a brave kitten. Max is a kitten who chases mice. There’s only one problem—Max doesn’t know what a mouse looks like! With a little bit of bad advice, Max finds himself facing a much bigger challenge. Maybe Max doesn’t have to be Max the Brave all the time…
Join this adventurous black cat as he very politely asks a variety of animals for help in finding a mouse. Young readers will delight in Max’s mistakes, while adults will love the subtle, tongue-in-cheek humor of this new children’s classic.
Ed Vere is an author, artist and illustrator with a long track record of success in the picture book category. Max the Brave was named one of The Sunday Times’s 100 Modern Children’s Classics. His book Bedtime for Monsters was shortlisted for the 2011 Roald Dahl Funny Prize and Mr Big was chosen by Booktrust as the official Booktime book for 2009 (and was distributed to 750,000 British schoolchildren making it the largest single print run of a picture book)Vere was the World Book Day illustrator for 2009.







Social Media

Twitter: @ed_vere, @jabberwockykids

Watch the first The 5th Wave Trailer!


Rick Yancey's The 5th Wave debuted in 2013 and was definitely my favorite YA book of the year. 16-year-old Cassie Sullivan is trying to survive after an alien invasion as devastated Earth with five waves of destruction. Called the Others, the aliens have left very few humans alive. Besides Cassie and her little brother, Ben Parish, high school football star is also alive and remains someone Cassie is romantically interested in. But like any good YA novel, Cassie meets Evan Walker who rescues her after she is shot.

The much anticipated sequel The Infinite Sea was released in September 2014 and delivered on so many levels. I'll wait until that film adaptation before I discuss that one so as not to create spoilers. The final book in the trilogy, The Last Star, will be released on May 24, 2016.

Sony Pictures purchased the film rights to trilogy and will star Chloe Grace Moretz who starred in another YA phenomenon If I Stay. The film will be released in 2016.

Check out IMDB's page for more information.

Saturday, September 12, 2015

Me, Earl, and the Dying Girl's Olivia Cooke is the Leading Lady in Ready Player One



Known for horror movies The Signal and Ouija as well as teen tragedy Me, Earl, and the Dying Girl, British actress Olivia Cooke will be the female star in Stephen Spielberg's adaptation of Ernest Cline's sci-fi phenomenon Ready Player One. Right now, Cooke is the only named cast member. She will play Ar3mis (Samantha Cook), an avatar in OASIS.






In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he's jacked into the virtual utopia known as the  OASIS. Wade's devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world's digital confines, puzzles that are based on their creator's obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them. When Wade stumbles upon the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade's going to survive, he'll have to win—and confront the real world he's always been so desperate to escape.

The film is set for release on December 15, 2017. 

Wednesday, September 9, 2015

Out of this World Wednesday: Sophie Kinsella and Sarah Dessen Hangout

Did you miss last week’s Google Hangout with NYT bestselling authors Sophie Kinsella and Sarah Dessen?

Check it out below!


Don't forget to check out Penguin Random House for more information and upcoming books!

Monday, September 7, 2015

Check out the NEW Griffin Teen


Check out the amazing new relaunch of Griffin Teen

Featuring upcoming titles as well as favorites, the newly updated website is the best place to access Griffin Teen books, news, and information. You can also sign up for the newsletter for exclusive information regarding books and sweepstakes.

Speaking of sweepstakes, while you're there, check out the Griffin Teen Griffin Ten Sweepstakes for 1 of 10 chances to win a book from authors like Rainbow Rowell, Laurie Elizabeth Flynn, R.L. Stine, Amanda Hocking and more!


Don't forget, you can always find Griffin Teen on social media!


What are you waiting for? Go now!

Wednesday, September 2, 2015

Your Voice is All I Hear Guest Post

Title: Your Voice is All I Hear
Author: Leah Scheier
Pubdate: September 1st, 2015
ISBN: 9781492614418
Tradepaper/$9.99 ● Ages 14+

“I was the one he trusted. I was the one he loved, the only one who believed him, even when his own mother had locked him up and thrown away the key. And now, I was going to pass down the white tiled hallway, knock on his doctor’s office door, slam his secret notebook on her desk and make her read it, make her understand what he was hiding, make her see what only I had seen.”

April won't let Jonah go without a fight. He’s her boyfriend—her best friend. She’ll do anything to keep him safe. But as Jonah slips into a dark depression, trying to escape the traumatic past that haunts him, April is torn. To protect Jonah, she risks losing everything: family, friends, an opportunity to attend a prestigious music school. How much must she sacrifice? And will her voice be loud enough to drown out the dissenters—and the ones in his head?

Leah Scheier works as a pediatrician and pens stories of romance and adventure. Her first novel, Secret Letters, was published in June 2012 (Hyperion/Disney) and received a starred review from School Library Journal, as well as glowing reviews from Booklist, VOYA, and Publishers Weekly. She lives in Maryland. Learn more at leahscheier.com.

Hit the jump to read the guest post. 

Thursday, August 27, 2015

Gennifer Choldenko Blog Post for Chasing Secrets



How do you name your characters?


I am a bit insane when it comes to naming my characters, because names are so important to me. A good name helps a reader sink into a character, but it also helps me understand on a deeper level who my character is.

Often I have to lock my ego in the bathroom when it’s time to name characters. My ego likes clever names. Original names. Names with showy rhymes, alliteration, or heavy-handed symbolism. Names befitting ponderous allegorical characters, Hollywood starlets, or Las Vegas showgirls. In short, names that try too hard. And while sometimes a clever and original name is exactly what brings a character to life, more often what is needed is a real name. A solid name. A name that sinks effortlessly into the landscape of my novel.

Some of my best names pop out of nowhere. A wealthy Nob Hill doctor in Chasing Secrets is named Dr. Roumalade. I have no clue where that name came from. And yet it is a perfect fit for a doctor with a round, balding head who only treats wealthy people with ample means to pay.

The main character in Chasing Secrets was originally called Fanny. I really liked the name Fanny and I didn’t want to give it up. But the longer I worked on the novel, the more I saw it wasn’t a good fit for the character I had created. And once I gave her the name Lizzie, she came to life in a way she never had before.

Sometimes naming makes me feel as if there are fifty dogs in the room. And only one of them is mine. I call the correct name and my dog will come trotting to me. There are days I stand in the room calling name after name, but no dog appears. Once I get the right name, it feels like my beloved German shepherd is rushing forward, bursting with enthusiasm to see me.

Since I write historical fiction, names must be historically correct. In 1900 girls were not named Jagger, Jayde, or Rocket, so the first order of business is to locate names in vogue during the year my character was born. There are a lot of naming sources on the Internet. The 500 most popular names in 1880 is one I used for Chasing Secrets. Sometimes I get names from old newspapers or—though this is ghoulish—from obituaries or walking in cemeteries and writing down the names on tombstones. Then I look at nationality. If my character is very Irish, then I need an Irish name. The name for the character Maggy Doyle in Chasing Secrets came from the memoir of a woman living in San Francisco in 1900. Maggy Doyle was her Irish maid’s name. Maggy Doyle is always Maggy Doyle and rarely just Maggy. Why? Some people’s first and last names are clustered tightly together, as if they are one name. You probably know people like that. I know I do.

Finding last names can be tricky, especially if there is more than one family member with that last name. In my view, J. K. Rowling is a master namer. Consider the name Weasley. The root word for Weasley is “weasel.” Yet that is not the character of the Weasley family. So why does it fit so well?

Another brilliant Rowling name is Draco Malfoy. But that name follows the exact opposite strategy. Draco. Latin for “dragon.” Malfoy. Latin word for evil: malum.

The best names often appear unexpectedly, like a flash flood. The name Aunt Hortense was like that. Her name popped onto the page and there she was.

For the novel I’m working on right now, I wrote down a bunch of historical names in my notebooks. None of them were all that interesting, but I wrote them anyway, just to get a feel for the kind of name that was common in that place and time. When I went back through the pages, my mind suddenly changed around the letters of one name to form another. And with that name as a handle, I was able to conjure up a new and unexpected character who is proving to be quite the scene stealer.

This is one of the absolute delights of the creative process. As crazy as naming can sometimes make me, there is nothing like the feeling of getting a character just right.
Think chocolate. Only better.

  Read my original review here.





Wednesday, August 19, 2015

All We Have Is Now by Lisa Schroeder



Release Date: July 28, 2015
Publisher & ARC: Point/Scholastic
ISBN: 9780545802536
Ages: 12+








Just over twenty-four hours are left until an asteroid strikes North America, and for Emerson and everyone else who didn’t leave, the world will end. But Emerson’s world already ended when she ran away from home. Since then, she has lived on the streets, relying on her wits and on her friend Vince to help her find places to sleep and food to eat.

The city’s quieter now that most people are gone, and no one seems to know what to do as the end approaches. But then Emerson and Vince meet Carl, who tells them he has been granting people’s wishes—and gives them his wallet full of money. 

Suddenly, this last day seems full of possibility. Emerson and Vince can grant a lot of wishes in one last day—maybe even their own.

Tuesday, August 4, 2015

Chasing Secrets by Gennifer Choldenko


Release Date: August 4, 2015
Publisher & ARC: Wendy Lamb/Random House
ISBN: 9780385742535
Ages: 9-12






Newbery Honor–winning author Gennifer Choldenko deftly combines humor, tragedy, fascinating historical detail, and a medical mystery in this exuberant new novel.
   San Francisco, 1900. The Gilded Age. A fantastic time to be alive for lots of people . . . but not thirteen-year-old Lizzie Kennedy, stuck at Miss Barstow’s snobby school for girls. Lizzie’s secret passion is science, an unsuitable subject for finishing-school girls. Lizzie lives to go on house calls with her physician father. On those visits to his patients, she discovers a hidden dark side of the city—a side that’s full of secrets, rats, and rumors of the plague.
   The newspapers, her powerful uncle, and her beloved papa all deny that the plague has reached San Francisco. So why is the heart of the city under quarantine? Why are angry mobs trying to burn Chinatown to the ground? Why is Noah, the Chinese cook’s son, suddenly making Lizzie question everything she has known to be true? Ignoring the rules of race and class, Lizzie and Noah must put the pieces together in a heart-stopping race to save the people they love. Click read more for my review.


Monday, August 3, 2015

Monday Mentions: Zack Delacruz: Me and My Big Mouth by Jeff Anderson



Release Date: August 4, 2015
Publisher & ARC: Sterling Children's Books
ISBN: 9781454914990
Ages: 10+






Zack Delacruz is unnoticed at his middle school—and that’s just the way he likes it. But a school assembly, a typhoon of spit, and an uncharacteristic moment of bravery are all it takes to change everything. Suddenly Zack is in charge of the class fundraiser. Worse, his partner is the school’s biggest bully! If they don’t sell all the chocolate bars, there will be no dance for the sixth grade.  Zack never wanted to be a hero, but with his classmates’ hopes on the line, can he save the day? 






  • Trusted Author: Jeff Anderson has written several professional books, all of which I personally own, to help teachers teach grammar and writing. I’ve used both Mechanically Inclined and Everyday Editing with my tenth grade classes. There’s no author I trust more than one who has been or currently is a teacher.
  • Friendship: The book has several characters that you would see any day in any middle school. Certain students who are not “popular” get the raw end of the deal when it comes to a social life, but genuine friendship beats every tortuous day of middle school. Zack has a best friend named Marquis, and by the end of the book, he’s obtained a few unlikely friends.
  • Say “No” to Bullying: While the book does have a definite anti-bullying message,, Anderson doesn’t beat you over the head with it. Instead, readers watch as Janie and Zack are bullied constantly, and they have to earn (in a sense) the admiration of those who bully them. When Zack stands up for Janie, this is a defining moment for both bully and victim, and this sets Zack and the other characters on a new path--one they don’t want but appreciate later.
  • Janie and Jose: While Zack is the main character, my two favorite characters were Janie and Jose. Perhaps because I am a teacher and love the quirky kids, those with that extra bit of personality that can drive you crazy on a stressful day or make you laugh just when you need it. Also being a movie-lover, I loved Janie’s movie quotes, which she had for every situation. The anticipation for Janie’s quote by the other characters definitely made me chuckle. Jose, though an obnoxious bully at the beginning of the book, has his flaws but I can also see that those flaws probably stem from home problems. Perhaps he doesn’t get enough food at home or have the best clothes so he acts out. I see that kid every year.
  • Diversity: I especially appreciated a diverse cast of characters. While their races are hinted at through dialogue, dialect, and yearbook photos, each character has a unique personality that will easily represent a lot of different kids, which is a key for struggling readers. Maybe it takes a teacher to see this, as Kirkus Reviews, abhorrently called this book “forgettable.” I guarantee for many kids, this book is far from that.



Saturday, August 1, 2015

Finale Friday (The Best of the Week) The Enchanted Files: Diary of a Mad Brownie by Bruce Coville


Release Date: June 30, 2015
Publisher & ARC: Random House
ISBN: 9780385392471
Ages: 9+






Introducing The Enchanted Files! Told in diary entries and other “documents,” this magical, modern-day new comedy series by the master of funny fantasy, Bruce Coville is filled with laugh-out-loud humor and heart.
 
In the first hilarious Enchanted Files, Angus is a brownie. No, not the kind you eat! He’s a tiny magical creature that loves to do chores. Angus has just “inherited” a new human girl, Alex. To say that Alex is messy would be an understatement. She’s a total hurricane-like disaster—and she likes it that way, thankyouverymuch! Living with each other isn’t easy but Angus and Alex soon learn there is a curse that binds them. What’s worse, it threatens Alex’s family! Working together, Angus and Alex will set out to break the curse . . . without killing each other first . . . hopefully.

* "Smart, amusing, and a lot of fun" —Booklist (starred review)

"With magic, mischief, and mayhem to spare, this sweet story of an unlikely friendship ought to delight readers of any age." —Publishers Weekly"A knee-slapper." —Kirkus Reviews